Me in action

I’m in Design Communication I at Austin Community College this semester and the final project is a book, at least 20 pages.
My professor allowed us to choose our own topic, to insure enthusiasm, so I chose disc golf as my topic.
I have to bind the book myself and I’ve never done it before so the enthusiasm wasn’t really there especially because I like the topic; I don’t want to do the sport I love a disservice. But I’ve got the enthusiasm now. The binding will be the most challenging part but I’ve already learned something awesome.

I decided to used images of myself for the book because I can get good photos and I don’t charge myself to use the images.

During my research I found an action shot of a lady driving from the tee box and it gave me an idea. My plan was to take stills from video to use in the book.

Starting out I wasn’t sure how to do it, I’ve got the Adobe Creative Suite so I thought I could pull stills from video using Premiere. I’m not as familiar with Premiere as I am with other tools in the Adobe tool chest and I don’t have time to learn it right now but I know I could find something online if I had to. Before I even tried Premiere I tried Photoshop. Video and animation have been in Photoshop for a bit, but I’ve not really made use of the Timeline except to make animated gifs.

So, I fired up Photoshop and opened a .mov file to see what happened.
Photoshop accepted the file, and though it was slow and clunky and the audio was terrible, it played my video. Not only that but within 15 seconds I was able to locate the exactly what I needed.

In the drop down menu of the Timeline window, Convert Frames>Flatten Frames Into Clips turns each frame of the video into a layer. Then I picked out layers showing the progression of my right hand fore hand drive. The image of me standing upright is part of the background, but all the other images of me going through the motions are cut out of different layers. I had to play with the arrangement to get the look I wanted but I’m excited with the end result.

20130422-232201.jpgMy masterpiece

I’ve got some great stills already, I’ll post the completed project in three weeks after the semester is over.

Now I want to take nothing but video of everything, why take stills when you can take 24 stills a second? Or more, in HD. I also want to use this technique on some other action sequences. I’m so immersed in disc golf right now all I can think about are action shots from the disc golf course.
Anyone have any suggestions for similar images I could apply my newfound skills to?

Here’s the original footage I pulled the stills from.

Let me know what you think

