March Midterm Madness!

I missed a day and I’m late but in my defense, not only have midterms been kicking my ass, but I have a real, paying client. Yeah, he’s a friend of mine, but I am designing collateral for him and his non profit is using it to promote events.

Today I am posting the results of the midterm project for my Design Communication I class which ties together everything else I’ve been learning since I’ve been in school.

The project is to design a book jacket for a book from a list of books provided. I chose The Ultimate Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy. I have a copy but I lost the jacket years ago so I thought this would be a great opportunity to make a jacket for my book and get a good grade.

These are the original sketches I made to get the creation process going. I was aiming at a tablet look because the Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy at the center of the book is a fictional electronic book from MegaDodo Publications on Ursa Minor Beta.

ImageImageImage

 

After the sketches I did two rounds of digital comps of the front cover and revisions of the digital comps, then two round of comps for the full jacket.

In the end I like the result. I made a unique and eye catching book jacket and I stayed true to the H2G2 fanbase but didn’t get too cliche with the design. My jacket would fit in with other versions made by other designers, and it would stand out.

 

ImageThe only thing I did not like about this project was trying to get it printed. It is too big to print on the laser printer at school and the print shop I took it to had problems printing it at full size. In the end the physical jacket was about 1/4 to small for the book so I know I didn’t get an A, but I did learn valuable lessons about dealing with a print shop and the difficulties of designing a book cover which is perfectly aligned and actually fits the book.

I’ve got a few more things to do before Spring Break and then I can relax.

Stay tuned, next week I’ve got something new in the works. 

 

 

Let me know what you think

