Keeping with the theme of beauty

Keeping with the theme of beauty, here are some things I find beautiful. (Beside my wife and daughter)

Living in Texas, the idea of anything built out of icicles seems far fetched, but in Colorado, anything goes I guess. Brent Christensen creates these amazing ice sculptures using icicles. Sometimes I’m jealous of the colder climes.

I’ve been a fairly avid reader since I learned to read and I do still own several full bookcases. Even as I pick up more and more titles on Kindle I prefer the paper for books with more than purely educational content. And of course no one can autograph the Kindle editions. So from a bibliophiles’ perspective, Livraria Lello in Porto, Portugal is one of the most beautiful places on the planet. They would have to track me down and drag me out of there or I would live there, and I don’t know Portuguese.

And finally, if pressed to pick a favorite movie on the spot, Caddyshack is my knee jerk response. Sometimes Monty Python and the Holy Grail, Evil Dead, or Psycho bubble up but Caddyshack seems to get more rotation. So I’ve got that goin’ for me, which is nice. Bill Murray is awesome in Caddyshack and every other movie he’s been in, even the movies I didn’t understand. (I’m looking at you, Lost in Translation)
Of course I’m not his only fan and some of his fans have made some great art in honor of the man himself.

These are just three of the things I found beautiful this past week, representing very different forms of beauty. Really beauty is everywhere, you can find it in the strangest of places if you look at it right.

Let me know what you think

